I Have a Smartphone!

At first, I usually resist trends at first, and I can often go for months, even years sometimes, but in the end I generally give in.

Well, I resisted smart phones until I could resist no more. I’ve been talking about converting to a smart phone for a little while now, but never actually got around to buying one, so my hubby did it for me, last week, for my birthday. I received a beautiful, shiny new Samsung Galaxy Precedent phone!

The reason I changed my mind is because of all of my frustrations from not having one:

-on a number of occasions I’ve had to call hubby, and interrupt him in his day, to ask him to log into my email to check something for me

-my Garmin GPS has failed too many times

-when I had no service, I had no way of contacting anyone

Now I will be able to :

-check and reply-to emails even if I’m not at home…and not disturb my sweetheart

-check my Google calendar remotely

-read the news, check Twitter, or Facebook if I’m waiting on someone

-use the GPS navigation system in my phone as a back-up

-what’s really cool too is that my gmail contacts link directly to my phone, so when I need to add/update contacts, I can go directly into gmail to update my contacts (I love this feature)!

-even if I have no service, I can go on to the internet and “chat” people, if they are online of course

-I can make calls using my google voice phone number (which is the number that I actually give out for professional purposes)

So far, I’m impressed with the phone, and I really love how convenient my life is now. The GPS works well, it syncs up to my google accounts, and I can play games too. So far, so good!

8 thoughts on “I Have a Smartphone!

  1. Happy belated birthday, Jen!! Hope you got to do something special!
    And congrats on your first smartphone. I had one of the first Blackberries a few years ago, and switched to the iPhone 4 about 2 years ago, and can’t imagine doing business or managing my busy life without! If you ever switch to the iPhone, you won’t ever switch back 😉 Congrats and enjoy!

  2. Thanks Nadia! If I ever get an iPhone I’ll let you know! 🙂 But for now, I’m still just trying to get used to a touch screen… lol.

    • Sounds good Jen 😉 The touch screen on the iPhone is great, and you can set up your keyboard to French, English, etc. and the spellcheck comes with each language setting. It is great for emailing, facebooking, tweeting in several languages… Bon mardi!

  3. Great choice! I worked as an in-house translation department manager at an internet company for years, and we were early Blackberry adapters. I was quite addicted to the Crackberry (which is about to go under), and after I went out on my own, I swore I’d get over my addiction. I actually lasted 3 years without a smartphone, and also got a Samsung Galaxy last year. I think that in the US, we have reached the point that customers expect entrepreneurs to be reachable at all times, so it was time for me to pull the trigger. While I am not hugely into being reachable 24/7, I love the convenience….and I can always turn it off. And since I am doing so much interpreting these days, my little device comes in very handy when I have a few minutes to spare. As you say, it’s great to catch up on e-mail, check Twitter, etc. My GPS has been all over the place, but that’s a story for another day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

