A Translator’s Thanksgiving

With Thanksgiving around the corner, I thought I’d take some time to reflect on all of the things that I can be thankful for as a translator.

Even though my translating career isn’t even one-year-old yet, I realized that I already have tons to be thankful for.

In particular, I am thankful for:

-the incredible support system/mentors I have met in the industry. I have been inspired and have learned so much from each one of these people: Marcela who inspired me to start this blog,  Judy Jenner who I was lucky enough to meet at the 5th annual AAIT conference, Catherine my wonderful classmate at NYU, Martin Hoffman my interpreting professor at NYU, Grant Hamilton my marketing and advertising translations professor/hero at NYU…just to name a few

-my two amazing interpreting experiences (for the multinational company Tupperware and Mayor of Toulouse)

-my ATA membership and directory listing, thanks to which I keep getting calls

-the AAIT (Atlanta Association of Translators and Interpreters) and their 5th annual conference, thanks to which I have met a number of successful translators and interpreters locally

WordReference, Linguee, the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style, the Merriam-Webster Thesaurus, French synonyms website at Synonymes… what would I do without my online dictionnaries

-websites explaining how to type French accents on a Mac keyboard, and for websites letting me copy/paste them

-the fact that I can watch a lil’ bit of bad TV while I have lunch, and not feel guilty about it (as long as doesn’t exceed one show!)

-the ProZ forums so I can reach out to other professionals when I have questions about the industry

-the new blogs that I recently discovered: Rainy London Translations, Patoudit, Naked Translations, Want words, Daily writing tips, Redhead writing (warning: this last one, is not for the faint of heart!)

-being able to take the dogs for a walk in the middle of the afternoon (ok so maybe I don’t actually do this, but I’m thankful to at least have the option…!)

-and finally, my incredible husband, who inspires and encourages me every step of the way.

Hope everyone has a warm, and wonderful Thanksgiving!

=)

One thought on “A Translator’s Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Weekly favorites (Nov 21-27) | Adventures in Freelance Translation

Leave a Reply

