Why Business Related Travel Is Like Chess

Sitting in the airport, on my way home to Atlanta, from an interpreting gig, I started thinking about how business-related travel is kind of like chess. Now you should know that, I’m not a big chess player: my metaphor here is mainly just about “thinking a few steps ahead.”

When I had arrived to Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson, on my way to Orlando, I marched straight to the self-check out kiosks, punched in my confirmation number, only to get a bright red screen that screamed: “NO SEATS! Go to counter for assistance.” I was confused. “How could there be no seats? I paid for a ticket on this flight.” I told the lady at the counter. The lady stated very simply that the flight was overbooked. To avoid this situation she advised that I check-in online next time. None of this made sense to me, by definition “check-in” is the process of announcing your arrival at a hotel or airport, so how could it be online? Nonetheless, I made a mental note to always “check-in” online before I actually “check-in.” Plan ahead!

Even though I was only leaving for one day/one night I found myself packing an extra work outfit: I had two pants, two tops and two cardigans. When my husband asked me why I needed all of that, I looked at him and simply said: “what if one of them gets stained or a gets a hole in it?” He giggled. But in the end, I was glad to have an extra cardigan because the one I wanted to wear did have small tear in the arm, barely noticeable, but I knew it was there, so I would have been uncomfortable. I quickly swapped it out and was a happy camper. Plan ahead!

When we arrived to the conference room where the interpreting would take place, we only had one head-set! My partner thankfully had her own head-set that she carries around. What a great idea. She planned ahead!

The more you plan ahead, and anticipate what can go wrong, the more chances you have of avoiding stressful situations.

If you enjoyed reading this post please leave a comment below, or subscribe via email (using the top box to the right.) 

Leave a Reply

